Kelvin's Food Blog

Food – Life, Passion, Art & Fun!

8 EIGHT Bar and Restaurant

I decided to eat out last minute with a friend. He suggested ‘8 Bar’ after hearing of an excellent review in the papers. We went in round 9.30pm. Surprisingly the restaurant was full for a Sunday and had a nice buzzing atmosphere to it. We had a quick glance at the menu on the door and I had already decided what I wanted to order. The décor inside is simple, contemporary and comfortable with a casual dress code.

All the tables were taken so we had to eat at the bar, we didn’t mind. Where we sat we had a view straight into the kitchen. It was late so a lot of the menu items were no longer available. Unfortunately the starter I wanted (the crab & avocado mousse) was finished. I went for the smoked mackerel salad with granny smith apples. Wow! A really fresh light and tasty starter, happy that the crab wasn’t on! For the main course I got to have what I wanted, pan-fried hake with a tomato clam and chorizo casserole with lemon aioli. Fantastic! The sauce was so good that my friend asked for a spoon to scoop up the sauce. We were happily full so we gave desserts a miss. After dinner we had a chat with the barman and found out that their food menu changes every day. Sign of a creative head chef constantly on his toes using fresh ingredients.

The bar offers a nice choice of both local and continental beers. I opted for a pint of Budvar and my mate Brian got a bottle of O’Hara Irish pale ale. There are plenty of cocktail glasses displayed behind the bar so it’s something for me to try the next visit. The total bill came to €34 per person. I know there are cheaper places elsewhere, but we are happy paying a bit more for good quality food. I will definitely return again.

8 Dock Road, Galway, Ireland
+ 353 (0)91 565111 | www.eight.ie

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 11, 2011 by in Co. Galway, Ireland, Restaurants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Daily Views (I wish!)

  • 10,439 views

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

