Kelvin's Food Blog

Food – Life, Passion, Art & Fun!

The Port House

Thinking of the year I spent living in Galway I began to crave a good dose of Spanish Tapas (Cava I miss you). I heard and read many good things about The Port House so I was really excited to check it out. Was in Dublin last week with the father and decided to have lunch. After wondering the streets like a pair of lost tourists we finally found the restaurant! First glance the place looked closed; nobody sitting outside compared to both buzzing cafés either side of it. So we were a bit sceptical on entering. However when we entered we escaped the busting noises of Dublin and now stood surrounded by a warm, cosy, candle lit atmosphere. Service was good: quickly greeted, sat at a table and not left waiting to order. I have to say the price of the lunch menu is just brilliant value. For €10 you can order 2 Tapas and get a glass of wine (or mineral!) We decided to order 4 different dishes and share them. We ordered:

  • Seafood Paella
  • Patatas Bravas
  • Chicken, Mixed leaves, chorizo, tomatoes and honey dressing
  • Prawn & asparagus omelette

Portion size were perfect leaving you not hungry but not full either. Honestly, I was disappointed with the standard of the food. This could have been due to my high expectations from previous encounters of Spanish Tapas or maybe the standard of food at lunch is different to that of evening service? When finishing of my glass of wine I got a mouthful of sediment, lovely. For price value I cannot complain, I mean come on a it’s only a tenner! However if the same dishes we had for lunch are served the same way at night then I’m sorry but I wont be back. I thought that early birds or lunch specials are to give people a taste of the restaurants dishes to hopefully entice the customer to return again. But if your looking for a cheap spot in town then I’d recommend you try the Port House for yourself and let you be the judge of it!

64a South William St, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 (0)1 6770298 | www.porthouse.ie

Leave a Reply

Archives

Daily Views (I wish!)

  • 10,404 views

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

