Kelvin's Food Blog

Food – Life, Passion, Art & Fun!

Gallaghers Seafood Restaurant

Always wanted to eat here while I was in University, but could never afford to indulge on my students salary! Arrived in Bunratty with my family, the night before my Graduation, and we were all hungry from the long drive down. When asked, “where’s good to eat?” I proposed Gallaghers. My chance to check it out and on Dad’s expense! 🙂 The restaurant is a white thatched cottage, and adjacent to it is JP Clarkes a pub where I spent many of times during Uni. The restaurant is dimly lit, warm, cosy and snug. It was quite busy for a Wednesday as most tables were filled. This evening there were copious amounts of specials on offer, impressive but quite difficult to remember when the waiter mumbles explaining each one with nerves. Depending on the establishment, specials are created for various reasons:

  1. push produce that’s slow to sell
  2. the chef may have received free produce from suppliers to sample
  3. testing or creating new ideas for future menu dishes
  4. to promote an item

Anyway, nothing tickled my fancy and I wasn’t going to take a gamble with Seafood. Service here is informal and attentive. Personally it felt robotic and lacked sincerity and charm.

The food is presented well. Lots of beautiful contrasting colours on the plate along with designs of lines and squiggles (dated food presentation, too old school arty for me). Sometimes less is more and let the freshness and quality of flavours do the talking. Everyone seemed happy with their starters and main course was equally as good. Dessert for me stole the show, a white chocolate cheesecake with baileys ice cream, absolutely mouth watering. Not a dessert fan but this got me excited!

I shared the special “wine and dine menu” with dad, which includes 3 courses and a bottle of house wine for €60. Really good value, but comparing to a la carte menu, the choice selection is limited. Both of my aunties and brother ordered from the a la carte menu. Gallaghers is quite pricey for its location (I guess Bunratty always has been, due to the tourism. Wonder how long that’s going to last?) and I don’t really feel I get value for money here. More value for money next door in JP Clakes, where it does fantastic modern pub grub and the service is definitely charming and sincere.

Bunratty, Co. Clare, Ireland

Tel: +353 (0)61 363 363 | www.gallaghersofbunratty.com

2 comments on “Gallaghers Seafood Restaurant

  1. Tan GE
    June 25, 2012

    Wow! you have turn out to be quite a food critic. Cannot remember what I ordered. At least those pictures turned out well – by my amateur standard.

  2. Pingback: Shannon College of Hotel Management Graduation 2012 (Part II) « Kelvin's Food Blog

Leave a Reply

Archives

Daily Views (I wish!)

  • 10,404 views

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other followers

